(U13) John Joe Naughton Cup ; Park Fc A 4-1 Mastergeeha Fc

A decent cup game, played in the wonderful KDL facility, with a dogged Mastergeeha side giving Park a good test for long periods in each half.
Park started well and tested the Mastergeeha keeper on a number of occasions.
Danny Jeffers, Kieran O’Connor and David Feeley had given Park a strong foothold in midfield and this was allowing Park to dominate possession and create scoring opportunities.
Cianan Cooney and Colin Doody both had chances before Kieran O’Connor opened the scoring in the 11th minute. His powerful header gave the Mastergeeha keeper no chance after a quality delivery from Doody.
Josh Connolly was narrowly wide a minute later and Park would rue their missed chances when in the 17th minute Mastergeeha equalised. Park lost possession in midfield and a superb long range effort, aided by the wind, beat Liam Carmody to put the Killarney boys level.
That’s how it remained at half time and Park had some adjustments to make.
Sean O’Connor entered the fray and immediately had a shot saved by the very able Mastergeeha custodian.
Strong defensive work from Jack Kearney, Seán Hill and Ben Hanafin in particular meant Mastergeeha rarely threatened the Park goals in the second half and the Tralee lads were now constantly probing for weakness in the Mastergeeha lines.
Sean O’Connell, who had a fine game and Colin Doody, who was Park’s man of the match, had further chances before good pressure on the ball from Park’s Adam Wharton presented Doody with a chance which he duly dispatched to put Park back in front.
Doody got his second and Park’s third with ten minutes to go when Seán O’Connor put him through for a fine finish.
Josh Connolly wrapped up the win with a fine header two minutes from time.
Park advance to the next round of the John Joe Naughton Kerry Cup but know that they will have to up their performance levels significantly if they are to deliver silverware this season.

Park play Aisling Annacotty next Saturday at home in the SFAI Regional Final at 2pm. Please come out and support the boys.

Panel: Adam Wharton, Cianan Cooney, ColIn Doody, Messiah Chirwah, Josh Connolly, David Feeley, Danny Jeffers, Seán O’Connor, Conor Kerins, Samuel Aladesanusi, Ben Hanafin, Jack Kearney, Seán Hill, Kieran O’Connor, Seán O’Connell and Liam Carmody.