After a ten year wait we are Kerry League Champions again. In a game that was played in very strong windy conditions we came out on top after a penalty shoot out.


Kerry Denny Premier "A" Champions 2011/2012
Kerry Denny Premier "A" Champions 2011/2012


The first half saw us control the game in all aspects with David Conway pulling all the strings. David was first to threaten the Castleisland goal when his 25 yard free kick just curled outside the post with the keeper beaten. Then five minutes later Con Barret saw his cross goal shot slide by the far post. Con was even closer next when his shot from a tight angle came back off the bottom off the post. Our defence were in total control through out the first half and considering we played into the strong wind 0-0 at half time was a good score line.


The second half again saw us dominate things with Castleisland only trying to catch us on the counter attack. David Courtney came close in the 48th minute when after a great ball from Anthony Murphy saw his effort just go over the bar. We kept going forward in search of the lead goal but didn’t seem to have that bit off luck infront of goal. David Courtney again came close with 10 minutes left , but saw the ball roll wide after he clipped it around the on rushing keeper and so it finished 0-0 at full time.


Extra time was no different, with Castleisland playing on the counter attack but with Adrian Quirke having an outstanding match at center back it was going to take something special to get past him. With five minutes remaining Pa McCarthy saw his well struck shot saved by the Castleisland keeper low at his near post. In the final minute it was our keepers turn to be the hero as Tommy Moriarty had to pull off a fantastic full length save to tip a free kick over the bar to bring the game to penalties.


David Conway went first and sent the keeper the wrong way before Castleisland levelled it at 1-1. Adrian Quirke then put us back in front and Castleisland missed, 2-1 to the Park. Next David Rogers stepped up to roll it to the corner and when Castleisland missed again it was 3-1. Fiachra Dunne was next and if he scored it was all over but he connected too well and the ball flew over the bar. Castleisland converted their fourth to make it 3-2 with one taker left each. We needed the nerveless Pa McCarthy to step forward and he calmly slotted the ball home and the wild celebrations got underway.


Kerry Denny Premier "A" Champions 2011/2012
Kerry Denny Premier "A" Champions 2011/2012


Kerry Denny Premier "A" Champions 2011/2012
Kerry Denny Premier "A" Champions 2011/2012


Team Managers Tommy Naughton and Tadgh Healy would like to thank every player for all their hard work through out the season. A special thanks too to our loyal supporters who have been there all season long cheering us on.


St Brendan’s Park FC – Kerry Denny Premier “A” Champions 2011-2012

Got a Question for us?


Club Secretary: Colm Mc Loughlin
Phone: + 353 87 934 8441
Address: St.Brendans Park FC, Buntalloon, Tralee, Co. Kerry

Eircode: V92 V250